EV drivers in Texas don’t pay at the pump, but will have to start paying a significant annual fee that critics are calling “punitive.”
Driving an electric vehicle in Texas is soon to become more expensive. Governor Greg Abbott signed a law (SB 505) on May 13 instituting new fees for registering and owning EVs in the state. Under the bill, electric car owners will have to pay $400 upon registering their vehicle. Then, every subsequent year, EV drivers will have to shell out an additional $200. Both of those fees are on top of the cost of the standard annual registration renewal fees, which are $50.75 each year for most passenger cars and trucks.
The law exempts mopeds, motorcycles, and other non-car EVs, and goes into effect starting on September 1, 2023.
Really, though, this is coming everywhere. Funding our road infrastructure with a gas tax doesn’t work in an EV world.
You mean Texas doesn’t have a tax at the charging stations?
Maybe they can charge picnic fees while they are waiting for such a long time to charge their car.
Texas is the only state in the union that I have found to date whose .gov website charges for use. Wanna do a business look up in Texas? One dollar per search.