Boots & Sabers

The blogging will continue until morale improves...


Everything but tech support.

1923, 23 Feb 20

Assembly Amends Drunken Democrats Bill

Hopefully the State Senate will reject this altogether.

Assembly Republicans amended the bill Thursday, the last day of the chamber’s two-year session, to limit the extended hours to bars in 14 southeastern Wisconsin counties: Kenosha, Racine, Walworth, Rock, Milwaukee, Waukesha, Jefferson, Dane, Ozaukee, Washington, Dodge, Columbia, Sheboygan, and Fond du Lac. Municipalities within those counties would have to pass a resolution allowing extended hours before they could take effect in those jurisdictions.


1923, 23 February 2020


  1. Kevin Scheunemann

    Liberals are already going to riot when Democrats deny Bernie the nomination.. .we don’t need drunken idiocy on top of that.

  2. jonnyv

    First of all, Bernie has this won. Unless something catastrophic happens, Bernie is walking this one in. The centrist democrats had a chance to stop him, but they all are staying in too long to create a unified coalition. Once Warren drops out, half of her supporters will probably go to Bernie.

    Second, I don’t see why there would be a problem with keeping the bars open later for that week. Let these small businesses take more money from incoming democrats and media.

  3. dad29

    If Bernie has it locked, there will be CAUSE for down-ticket Democrats to drink themselves to oblivion.

    But that doesn’t translate to “let them puke and DUI all over SE Wisconsin, endangering others–like my children.

  4. jonnyv

    dad29. If your kids are still out at 4am…

    And honestly, I would probably limit it to just Milwaukee Co. as this is where the actual convention is. I am glad that you feel the need for gov’t to babysit these adults. Keep on supporting big gov’t oversight.

  5. Owen

    I don’t have a problem with the lateer time. I have a problem with having different rules for different folks. If we want to change the drinking time, then do the homework to understand the full consequences of the policy change and implement it for everyone.

  6. jonnyv

    Owen, that is funny. Because I don’t feel like we need to change it overall, but I appreciate the flexibility options. If Milwaukee Co wants to have the option to push back closing time for a single week, I like that we have the option to do that with local gov’t approval. Personally, I think this should be a local decision and not even have to go to the state, but that isn’t the way it is.

  7. Owen

    I’d be open to having local ordinances govern it too. Usually, the more local, the better. But again, then let’s evaluate the policy change on its merits and do it for everyone. I get nervous when state government makes ad hoc decisions to temporarily appease a single group.

  8. Kevin Scheunemann

    I am fine with local power back to municipalities on this.    I don’t see Kewaskum adjusting this at all, locally.     However, the permanent option for municipalities to do this fine with me.

  9. dad29

    If your kids are still out at 4am…

    Delivering the AM papers or plowing snow…..

Pin It on Pinterest